THE BLUE POOL

What really happened that weekend?

Four friends go to a remote cabin one summer. Only three return.

Life is good for university friends Sarah, Ruth, Charlotte, and Kathy: it’s summer, exams are over, and they’re escaping to a cabin by the Blue Pool. But when Sarah then disappears without a trace, life for the others will never be the same again.

Twenty-five years later, a man walks into a police station, claiming to know something about the missing girl. Suddenly, the three women – now estranged – all become suspects. Forced to revisit that horrifying weekend, they must confront buried memories and decades-old misgivings. For not everything was as it seemed, and the greater the secret, the deeper it lies…

From the author of the acclaimed Twisted River, this is another ingenious and unpredictable psychological thriller. A mesmerising exploration of loyalty, friendship, and the corrosive effects of guilt, The Blue Pool will appeal to readers of Clare Mackintosh, Paula Hawkins, and B A Paris.

Fantastic Tension … an Intense Read
The Crime Review
“Similar to TWISTED RIVER, in that she achieves fantastic levels of tension. An intense read that you will want to devour as quickly as possible.” The Crime Review, September 2016
Riveting Psychological Thriller
Splashes Into Books
“A riveting psychological thriller. Nothing is straightforward. Guilty secrets have been hidden for twenty five years and their revelations come to a surprising conclusion. An enthralling read and an author to keep an eye out for in future.” Splashes Into Books, August 2016
Kept Me Guessing Right To The End
Darcie Boleyn
“A gripping thriller with plenty of twists and turns along the way. MacDonald kept me guessing right until the end and just when I thought I knew what had happened, she threw in one final twist. This is a fabulous read and if you enjoy dark, twisty thrillers, I thoroughly recommend it.” Darcie Boleyn, author of SOMETHING OLD, SOMETHING NEW